Sepang MotoGP: Marc Marquez wins after Valentino Rossi crashes

Sepang MotoGP Repsol Honda Suzuki Tech3 Yamaha Marquez

Marc Marquez took a comfortable ninth victory of the 2018 MotoGP season in the Malaysian Grand Prix after long-time leader Valentino Rossi crashed.

From second on the grid, Rossi outdragged poleman Johann Zarco to take the lead into the first corner and from there proceeded to build a lead of more than a second.

Marquez meanwhile quickly set about making up for his six-place grid penalty for impeding Andrea Iannone in qualifying and by the end of the fifth lap of 20 he had taken up station behind Rossi.

Initially Rossi was able to extend the gap over his former arch-rival, but as the race moved into its second half Marquez began to chip away at the Yamaha rider's advantage.

Closing in at around a tenth per lap, Marquez had managed to get within 0.6 seconds of Rossi when the Italian rider suffered a low-speed crash at Turn 1 with three laps to go, denying the crowd a repeat of the pair's infamous 2015 Sepang duel.

Marquez inherited a lead of four seconds over Zarco as a result of Rossi's incident, and from there he was able to cruise to a straightforward 1.8s win and clinch the constructors' title for Honda.

Zarco was passed for second by the Suzuki of Alex Rins on the final lap at Turn 4, allowing Rins to equal his career-best result, while Zarco held on for third to claim his first podium finish since May.

Maverick Vinales could well have contended for victory but for his poor grid slot of 11th, which left him losing time stuck behind the Nieto Ducati of Alvaro Bautista in the early laps.

He made steady progress in the second half of the race, passing the second Honda of Dani Pedrosa on lap 14 to take fifth - which would become fourth when team-mate Rossi crashed.

Pedrosa's fifth place equals his best result of a difficult 2018 season, while Andrea Dovizioso endured a low-key run to sixth on the best of the Ducatis.

Dovizioso, winner of the last two MotoGP races at Sepang, had climbed as high as fourth in the early laps only to drop behind Rins, Pedrosa and Vinales as the race went on.

Sixth was still sufficient for Dovizioso to seal second place in the championship as rival Rossi failed to score.

Bautista led home a trio of satellite Ducati riders in seventh ahead of Pramac pair Jack Miller, whose gamble on a medium rear tyre didn't pay off, and Danilo Petrucci.

Hafizh Syahrin stormed from 23rd and last on the grid to 12th on the opening lap, and managed to secure the final top 10 position on a day he became the first Malaysian to start a premier class grand prix.

Aleix Espargaro was 11th ahead of Franco Morbidelli, LCR Honda stand-in Stefan Bradl, Takaaki Nakagami and Bradley Smith.

Rossi remounted and finished 18th.

Among the other crashers were Andrea Iannone, who lost the front end of his Suzuki on lap one at Turn 15 while following Marquez, and Jorge Lorenzo's Ducati replacement Michele Pirro.

Latest NEWS You might be interested in

NEWS Tag Cloud

Duet Suzuki Gixxer SF Schemes Fazer Himalayan Japan Green Fly Rumours Department of Transport Management Scheme Birjung Folgar FZ25 Passion Pro Dovizios YZF R3 Star City Plus Multistrada Motorcyle Just Bikes Barcelona GP CRF250Rally Stolen Bikes Honda Upcoming Bikes HONDA INDIA 150 SCOOTER Tax BS III BJ600 Bullet 500 Rai Motors BS IV Duke 390 Passion Movistar Yamaha Winners Australian GP NCell FZ Johann Zarco Activa-i Puslar 160 Sepang Test Winter Test 2018 Digital License Xtreet Scooter Thunderbird Gusto Suzuki Honda Nepal Jack Miller R400 Marquez Showroom Spain Racemandu Lewis Hamilton TVS Akula 310 launch Classic Tech3 Yamaha AS150 Danilo Petrucci Monza 2017 IME Automotives RTR Moto2 Saluto Repsol Honda Team Hunk 2019 CB Twister Duke 250 NS200 Thailand GP Anna business group Nepal Police Discover 100T Glamour Celebration CX-01 concept VR46 Two-wheelers Assen HMSI INDIA LAUNCH AS200 Australia Dani Pedrosa CBR150R Splendor iSmart BMW G 310 R Motorcycle Registration 125cc Kawasaki MV Agusta Pulsar AS200 Renegade Swish JnJ 2075 Earthquake Relief Royal Enfield Avenger TVS Motors Pulsar AS150 Aragon MotoGP Vespa Pulsar RS 200 GRAN PREMIO MOTUL DE LA COMUNITAT VALENCIANA Classic 500 Malaysia STX 150 RED BULL GRAND PRIX OF THE AMERICAS Respol Honda Pulsar ST Papio Benelli Pulsar RS200 New Specifications VG Suzuki Motorcycle TVS Racing Johhy Rea Pulsar SS400 HMSI Sky Racing NGM Fuel Economy Scrambler Bajaj Ninja 300 Yamaha Concept Motorcycle Brutale Italia limited edition CS400 New Upgrades Hansaraj Hansa SR150 Controversy Discountinued UM Global Rossi 2018 Valencia Motogp TNT 135 Adventure Bike Morang Autoworks CRF250 Rally Apache RTR 200 Livo 110 Render Image 150SS Racer Cal Crutchlow Pulsar 200SS Splendor Pro Classic Le Mans GP CFMoto Tech 3 Yamaha Dare Venture TNT 600i Madrid Auto Show 24x7 service R650 Aerodynamics Jerez Sym Scooters World Superbikes Crash Media NEWS India News Offer Path 22 Pulsar CS400 Andrea Innanone COTA KTM Monster Tech3 Adventure 390 CatalunyaGP Navi commuter motorcycle Hornet Winner 2018 Mercedes Qatar CBR500R Rumour Smith CBR400R Repsol Honda NEW HONDA SCOOTER LAUNCH R15 Malaysia GP LCR Honda Hansaraj Hulas Chand Scooters LRF 250 Enduro CRF250L honda scooters FZ-S CB160R Motorcycle Agni Moto Inc Expansion Germany RE Maha Test Drive Mela New Driving License system Procedures Sales Petrol Sales Report Stoner New Colors Shankar Group RAC R6 India 650 NK Phillip Island New Showroom 390 Adventure Sepang HF Dawn Gearventure Bike Nepal Maverick Vinales FrenchGP Budget 2074 Concept Bike 50 years Jawa xDrive Hybrid Audi Monkey bike D-Lifestyles Argetine GP GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA TIM 150 NK Akula New Year Campaign MINORU KATO Marc Marquez Harley-Davidson CBR 650F Moto3 Dovizioso NADA Auto Show Helmet BMW Tornado 302R Triump Palpa Nicky Hayden Discontinued GS Cliq Winglets Karizma Dealership Q2 Zest Africa Twin Duke 200 Dominar 400 CB Trigger RC390 honda dio Saurav Jyoti Pedrosa ETX 150 TVS Akula 310 design Bhaktapur Hayabusa Fascino Czech Grand Prix XRE 300 Jorge Lorenzo TNT300 CB400F Turbo Nepal Mojo Jupiter World Champion Rally BN600 Missano Pleasure Stat Talkies Luis Salom Aprilla Interest Rates Pantero Opinions VG Automobiles Valencia Test Vitpilen 401 190L UNICEF Nepal Nepal Petroleum Dealers Association Japan tour Scooter Day Diesel Crisis Isle of Man TT Carl Crutchlow KTM International Trading Valencia RC 390 Hunter XR Aprilia Dominar RC 200 Offers BN 302 TRK502 TVS Akula 310 XR125 Motorcycles Cash Discount Limited Edition Dio NADA 2017 #69 Apache Movistar Grand Prix of Argentina Andrea Dovizioso Continental GT Syakar Trading Lorenzo New Vehicle Registration Petrol Crisis Lin Jarvis 2016 Mexico GP Sport Ray Pulsar 150 TD Andrea Iannone Harris Performance RC213V F1 volkswagen Crossover Repsol Update EICMA Xtreme Sports The Wheels MotoPG R 1200 Legend CB Unicorn M1 NEWS Max Biaggi Accident RR310 CB400X Syakar Honda Exchange Offer 400 NK Victor Cataunya GP Ganesh International MIchele Pirro Argentine Grand Prix NOC Hansaraj Hulaschand Zarco Activa 125 Tech 3 3rd edition Hero Gixxer SF MotoGP Access Husqvarna Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Apache RR 310 SR 125 Dashain Offer Centuro Installment Procedures Pulsar 150 Future Ntorq QatarGP Nepal Traffic Police New Year Spy Shot Mahindra Pramac Racing Lemoto Activa Thunderbird 500 250 TVS Inazuma TNT135 PTT Mugello MotoGP Jagdamba Motors Circuit of the Americas in Texas SG Global Gixxer Price HONDA AFRICA TWIN Euro IV Brutale 1090R TVS Motor Company Sepang MotoGP CRF Hayate Hetauda TVS Akula 310 concept Acquistion Riding Styles Vinales MOTUL GRAND PRIX OF JAPAN Motegi v3 Ducati New Motorcycles British GP honda two wheelers Injury Update Golcha Nepal New Launches Dirt Bike New Launch Valentino Rossi Jerez GP Iannone CTX700 Alex Rins Lets