MotoGP: Honda announces Jorge Lorenzo's two-year MotoGP deal for 2019/20

MotoGP Ducati Repsol Honda Jorge Lorenzo

Honda has announced Jorge Lorenzo will join Marc Marquez on a two-year deal in its factory MotoGP line-up.

As previously reported by Autosport, Honda has settled on three-time champion Lorenzo as its replacement for Dani Pedrosa, who will leave the team after 13 seasons with Honda in the premier class.

Lorenzo rode a Honda 250cc bike back in 2005, his first season in the intermediate class, and finished fifth in the standings.

After graduating to MotoGP in 2008, he spent nine years at the Yamaha factory team, winning MotoGP titles in '10, '12 and '15.

He joined Ducati last year, but results with the Italian manufacturer have proved hard to come by and it took Lorenzo until last weekend's Mugello round to claim his first win on the Desmosedici bike.

The victory, which came after a particularly difficult start to his season, lifted Lorenzo to 10th in the standing on 41 points, 54 behind future team-mate and current championship leader Marquez.

"From 2019, Lorenzo will become team-mate to four-time MotoGP world champion Marc Marquez: two great champions with great talent and high hopes that will make a stronger team and contribute to the development of HRC," read a short statement from Honda.

Lorenzo's deal leaves just three factory seats yet to be formally filled for the 2019-20 contract cycle.

Suzuki, which pursued Lorenzo earlier in the season, is poised to finalise an agreement with Moto2 rookie Joan Mir to replace Andrea Iannone, who has instead been tipped to take over Scott Redding's Aprilia ride.

Ducati will call up Pramac's Danilo Petrucci to partner Andrea Dovizioso.

Latest NEWS You might be interested in

NEWS Tag Cloud

VG Suzuki Motorcycle New Upgrades Avenger 125cc Spy Shot Hansaraj Hulaschand Tech3 Yamaha Q2 Nepal Traffic Police Kawasaki Monster Tech3 Winglets Limited Edition CFMoto Digital License Iannone Vinales Xtreme Sports Audi New Driving License system Procedures Offer RC213V R650 Mahindra Nepal Police Nepal Petroleum Dealers Association India News XR CB400X Stat XRE 300 RE Maha Test Drive Mela Qatar Dovizios MIchele Pirro New Showroom Just Bikes Victor Riding Styles TRK502 650 NK STX 150 Zarco Apache FZ25 Motorcycle NEWS Jack Miller Gearventure Bike Nepal Activa-i British GP Ducati New Motorcycles Talkies R 1200 Pulsar AS200 CRF250Rally Pleasure Hansaraj Hulas Chand CRF250L Rai Motors Johann Zarco Helmet GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA TIM Exchange Offer Classic honda dio BN600 Cash Discount Syakar Honda BJ600 Accident Moto2 Nepal TVS Akula 310 Respol Honda Lets Adventure Bike Fascino Palpa Fazer TVS Motor Company Ninja 300 Tax Opinions Spain TNT 600i Winner 2018 Tech 3 Yamaha CTX700 Green Fly Japan tour Duke 250 Pulsar 150 Star City Plus HONDA INDIA 150 SCOOTER Continental GT 390 Adventure Euro IV TVS Puslar 160 Brutale Italia limited edition Repsol Honda Bullet 500 Dominar 400 Lewis Hamilton CRF250 Rally MINORU KATO Stoner LRF 250 Enduro Scooters JnJ Movistar Yamaha KTM International Trading SR 125 Passion Pro Pulsar HMSI 50 years Sepang Test MV Agusta Pulsar 200SS 3rd edition Suzuki Glamour BS III Phillip Island CB Trigger EICMA Brutale 1090R Thunderbird 500 SG Global 2075 Dashain Offer R6 Jorge Lorenzo TVS Motors The Wheels Centuro AS150 New Specifications 250 Apache RTR 200 v3 Motorcycle Registration Monkey bike Mugello MotoGP Duet Winners Discover 100T Hornet Madrid Auto Show UNICEF Nepal Rumours Pantero GRAN PREMIO MOTUL DE LA COMUNITAT VALENCIANA TNT300 Dare Venture Budget 2074 Offers Hunter Dovizioso Sales Report Andrea Dovizioso Crash Discountinued Sym Scooters Vitpilen 401 Sepang MotoGP Dealership Concept Motorcycle Turbo Nepal RED BULL GRAND PRIX OF THE AMERICAS Jerez Fuel Economy Max Biaggi Sepang RC390 Ray MOTUL GRAND PRIX OF JAPAN MotoPG Render Image XR125 NADA Auto Show CS400 Xtreet Acquistion Pulsar RS200 M1 Two-wheelers Carl Crutchlow Le Mans GP New Year Malaysia GP Pulsar 150 TD honda two wheelers Petrol Crisis Jerez GP Valentino Rossi Activa 125 VG Automobiles Navi NCell Grand Prix of Argentina YZF R3 New Vehicle Registration Cal Crutchlow FZ Aerodynamics Saluto Concept Bike Pulsar SS400 Motegi Media NEWS Vespa Lorenzo Upcoming Bikes Expansion NADA 2017 HMSI INDIA LAUNCH Scheme Controversy Celebration commuter motorcycle Czech Grand Prix Path 22 Sales Dominar TVS Akula 310 design Mojo Marc Marquez SR150 Adventure 390 BS IV FZ-S TNT135 AS200 400 NK Africa Twin Harris Performance D-Lifestyles Earthquake Relief Classic 500 CRF Repsol Honda Team Australian GP Valencia 2018 Multistrada Aprilla NEW HONDA SCOOTER LAUNCH Interest Rates Scrambler Royal Enfield TVS Akula 310 launch Germany Pulsar AS150 Japan ST Papio Dani Pedrosa Lemoto Honda Hero Price Pulsar RS 200 Splendor iSmart R15 Benelli TVS Racing Isle of Man TT 2017 Barcelona GP Syakar Trading BMW G 310 R Gixxer Monza Bajaj Yamaha NS200 Jagdamba Motors Assen Golcha Saurav Jyoti TNT 135 NGM COTA Inazuma Aragon MotoGP Stolen Bikes Malaysia honda scooters Movistar Yamaha MotoGP NOC India PTT Injury Update GS Duke 390 Akula Pedrosa Andrea Innanone Zest CB400F Harley-Davidson Suzuki Gixxer SF Triump Aprilia Passion volkswagen Maverick Vinales Diesel Crisis KTM Argentine Grand Prix New Launches ETX 150 Thunderbird Mercedes Duke 200 Ntorq RR310 Cliq Rossi Livo 110 Alex Rins Luis Salom Winter Test 2018 CB160R RC 390 MotoGP Update Danilo Petrucci Jawa CBR400R Pramac Racing Johhy Rea CBR500R Showroom Scooter Day LCR Honda Discontinued HF Dawn Legend Birjung Argetine GP Valencia Motogp F1 Activa CB Twister Gixxer SF Apache RR 310 Gusto New Colors Agni Moto Inc Hetauda 150 NK Shankar Group Swish 24x7 service Pulsar CS400 Dirt Bike Racemandu Australia QatarGP CBR 650F Sport Crossover Renegade Access Hansaraj Hansa Cataunya GP Hayabusa Scooter Mexico GP RC 200 Missano Morang Autoworks Ganesh International Motorcyle Petrol Hayate New Launch Circuit of the Americas in Texas Andrea Iannone Schemes Tech 3 Jupiter 150SS Racer Honda Nepal New Year Campaign Future Folgar Installment Procedures BMW CB Unicorn RAC Department of Transport Management Motorcycles Valencia Test CX-01 concept World Superbikes HONDA AFRICA TWIN Hunk Dio Movistar Thailand GP World Champion BN 302 xDrive Hybrid Rumour Splendor Pro Classic R400 UM Global Himalayan Tornado 302R CatalunyaGP Repsol Rally Bhaktapur IME Automotives Marquez Husqvarna 190L 2016 Lin Jarvis Anna business group RTR Karizma FrenchGP TVS Akula 310 concept CBR150R