Qatar MotoGP: Zarco beats lap record to grab pole

MotoGP QatarGP Tech 3 Johann Zarco Dovizioso Ducati

Tech 3 Yamaha's Johann Zarco took pole position for the opening round of the 2018 MotoGP season at Qatar, establishing a new lap record by almost a quarter of a second.

Zarco's best laptime of 1m53.680s beat the existing record of Jorge Lorenzo set in 2008 by 0.247s, and gave him his third premier class pole by 0.202s ahead of reigning champion Marc Marquez's Honda.

Marquez was quickest on the first runs and led on a 1m54.368s, but was then knocked off the top spot by Andrea Dovizioso, who set a 1m54.074s on his works Ducati.

Dovizioso looked good for pole heading into the final stages, but was shunted down to fifth in the final order amid a late flurry of improvements led by Zarco and Marquez.

Danilo Petrucci set a lap just 0.005s slower than Marquez to take the final spot on the front row and end up the best of the Ducati runners on his Pramac-run GP18, while LCR Honda rider Cal Crutchlow edged out Dovizioso for fourth by two thousandths.

Alex Rins completed the second row on the best of the Suzukis behind Dovizioso, ahead of Dani Pedrosa's Honda and Valentino Rossi, who was 0.709s off the pace on the quicker of the two works Yamahas.

His teammate Maverick Vinales was slowest of all in Q2 and the only rider not to get within a second of Zarco, and will start 12th - behind Lorenzo's Ducati, Jack Miller on the second Pramac machine and Andrea Iannone's Suzuki.

Latest NEWS You might be interested in

NEWS Tag Cloud

Movistar Yamaha Golcha Kawasaki Hayate Scooter Showroom Moto3 Pulsar AS200 Qatar Pulsar M1 RED BULL GRAND PRIX OF THE AMERICAS Accident Pantero Star City Plus Tech 3 Yamaha Malaysia GP Motorcycle Hansaraj Hulas Chand Talkies Avenger Pulsar AS150 2016 HONDA AFRICA TWIN CB Twister SG Global Respol Honda Bullet 500 NCell Crossover MV Agusta Motorcycle Registration NOC Sepang Test BJ600 250 Monkey bike Hansaraj Hansa F1 Activa 125 390 Adventure Johhy Rea Legend Australia RE Maha Test Drive Mela NADA 2017 New Vehicle Registration Movistar Pleasure Suzuki Continental GT Madrid Auto Show Isle of Man TT Czech Grand Prix 650 NK LRF 250 Enduro BS III Aragon MotoGP Marquez 125cc Hunter Department of Transport Management Rossi GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA TIM TNT300 RR310 honda dio NEW HONDA SCOOTER LAUNCH Lemoto Palpa Saurav Jyoti 2018 Controversy Activa-i Agni Moto Inc BN600 Shankar Group TVS Akula 310 launch Valencia Motogp RC213V Himalayan Carl Crutchlow Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Thailand GP Earthquake Relief Scrambler Sales Report Vinales Pulsar 150 CB Trigger Offer Honda Motorcyle 2017 Riding Styles 24x7 service Suzuki Gixxer SF Update Motorcycles Zarco Argetine GP Max Biaggi Syakar Honda TVS Akula 310 concept Sepang Lets Racemandu Discontinued CB160R Le Mans GP Jupiter Alex Rins D-Lifestyles Winter Test 2018 honda two wheelers Barcelona GP FrenchGP Duke 250 CX-01 concept Aerodynamics Discover 100T Andrea Dovizioso Nepal Traffic Police Malaysia Interest Rates Pulsar SS400 Pulsar RS 200 Expansion British GP HMSI R6 TVS Racing Pulsar 150 TD Grand Prix of Argentina KTM International Trading Pulsar CS400 Bajaj Adventure Bike Spy Shot Zest Australian GP New Year Campaign Xtreet Assen Passion Cal Crutchlow Limited Edition MotoPG Cataunya GP Cash Discount World Champion 190L Hansaraj Hulaschand R650 CTX700 Schemes Fazer Rally Inazuma ETX 150 XR HONDA INDIA 150 SCOOTER Missano volkswagen Valencia Test ST Papio TVS Motors CBR150R Stoner Dio Sky Racing Pulsar RS200 Two-wheelers CatalunyaGP Pedrosa Apache RTR 200 CB Unicorn Akula Nepal Petroleum Dealers Association CS400 Discountinued Africa Twin Media NEWS Valencia Triump Hunk Dashain Offer Stolen Bikes Renegade honda scooters Splendor iSmart Mexico GP Classic v3 MINORU KATO Adventure 390 Aprilla Euro IV Turbo Nepal BMW G 310 R KTM Rumour Opinions Brutale Italia limited edition Fuel Economy Husqvarna CRF250 Rally Valentino Rossi Ninja 300 Puslar 160 Winglets 3rd edition Andrea Iannone CBR500R Iannone Hetauda 2075 India Xtreme Sports Monster Yamaha Birjung MIchele Pirro Syakar Trading Ray IME Automotives R 1200 Monza EICMA Bhaktapur Access Pulsar 200SS New Motorcycles Diesel Crisis New Specifications Hayabusa NS200 Price Jawa Jack Miller Multistrada Sepang MotoGP RC 390 Circuit of the Americas in Texas Repsol Honda Team commuter motorcycle Tech3 Yamaha CFMoto Tornado 302R Sym Scooters AS200 Japan tour Dirt Bike CB400F Mugello MotoGP Johann Zarco Concept Bike XRE 300 Ganesh International Stat SR150 Gearventure Bike Nepal QatarGP New Year xDrive Hybrid UM Global Navi Dominar Thunderbird Glamour Benelli Tax Passion Pro TNT 600i Ntorq Sales CBR400R NADA Auto Show Apache Sport Rai Motors Celebration BS IV Monster Tech3 BN 302 AS150 Marc Marquez JnJ Dani Pedrosa Dovizios Saluto R400 PTT Germany FZ Injury Update VG Automobiles Audi Hero Offers New Upgrades Gusto HMSI INDIA LAUNCH Apache RR 310 Jerez Phillip Island NGM Tech 3 Green Fly Folgar Yamaha TVS Akula 310 Pramac Racing CBR 650F CRF Jorge Lorenzo Winners Installment Procedures Scooters Royal Enfield Aprilia Spain FZ25 150SS Racer RC 200 Nepal Nepal Police CRF250L VR46 Digital License Scooter Day TNT135 New Colors Dominar 400 New Driving License system Procedures Winner 2018 New Launch Splendor Pro Classic Q2 Morang Autoworks Swish Mercedes Victor Karizma Duke 390 YZF R3 Activa Vitpilen 401 Hornet Andrea Innanone Fascino Exchange Offer 150 NK MotoGP Duke 200 Repsol Lewis Hamilton Harris Performance LCR Honda GS Lin Jarvis Argentine Grand Prix Ducati CRF250Rally BMW Smith UNICEF Nepal World Superbikes Harley-Davidson Mojo RTR Upcoming Bikes New Launches Petrol Crisis STX 150 Repsol Honda COTA Dare Venture FZ-S XR125 50 years SR 125 Motegi Danilo Petrucci Maverick Vinales MOTUL GRAND PRIX OF JAPAN TRK502 Duet Path 22 RAC NEWS #69 New Showroom Nicky Hayden Concept Motorcycle 400 NK Scheme Gixxer SF 2019 Dealership Render Image Japan Acquistion Jagdamba Motors Just Bikes Vespa Helmet Classic 500 RC390 HF Dawn GRAN PREMIO MOTUL DE LA COMUNITAT VALENCIANA Rumours Budget 2074 TNT 135 Mahindra Moto2 The Wheels Honda Nepal Cliq Jerez GP TVS Akula 310 design CB400X Gixxer Brutale 1090R Petrol Anna business group TVS Motor Company Luis Salom Centuro Lorenzo Dovizioso Crash India News Livo 110 R15 Future Thunderbird 500 TVS VG Suzuki Motorcycle