MotoGP: Congratulations!!! Marc Marquez wins MotoGP title, Dovizioso crashes, Pedrosa wins race

MotoGP Valencia Marc Marquez Pedrosa Johann Zarco Repsol Honda Team Tech 3 Yamaha

Marc Marquez sealed his fourth MotoGP title with after finishing third in the season finale at Valencia won by Dani Pedrosa, as Andrea Dovizioso's championship hopes ended with a late crash.

Dovizioso needed to win the race and hope polesitter Marquez couldn't finish inside the top 11, and the Italian made quick progress from ninth on the grid to settle into fifth behind Ducati team-mate Jorge Lorenzo.

Marquez led the opening laps, but looked over his shoulder as he allowed Tech 3 Yamaha's Johann Zarco ahead at Turn 6 on the fourth lap, and settled into a rhythm behind the Frenchman.

Zarco headed a five-strong lead group comprising himself, Marquez, Dani Pedrosa, Lorenzo and Dovizioso, who put increasing pressure on his team-mate in the fight for fourth.

Lorenzo however wouldn't move over for the Italian, and was eventually given the coded instruction 'Suggested Mapping 8' for the second race in a row after 13 laps.

The Spaniard still didn't heed the instruction and was eventually shown a pitboard with an arrow clearly telling him to drop one position after several more laps of running ahead of Dovizioso.

It wasn't until the 20th lap of a tense 30-lap encounter that the order changed, as Marquez briefly passed Zarco, only to be overtaken straight back.

Marquez was soon back on the attack, passing on lap 23, but he almost blew what looked to be a safe title as he misjudged his braking into Turn 1 on the following lap and ran wide into the gravel.

Keeping his works Honda upright, he managed to rejoin in fifth, behind Zarco, Pedrosa, Lorenzo and Dovizioso.

After Dovizioso started to drop back, Lorenzo then crashed out at Turn 4 with six laps remaining, before Ducati's hopes of a first title in a decade crumbled as Dovizioso fell at Turn 8 on the same tour.

That promoted Marquez to third, which was enough to beat Dovizioso to the title by 36 points.

Meanwhile, Zarco came under increasing threat from Pedrosa in the closing laps, and eventually succumbed to the works Honda rider at the start of the final lap.

Behind Marquez, Alex Rins took a career-best fourth for Suzuki, and Valentino Rossi was fifth on the best of the works Yamahas.

Front-row starter Andrea Iannone slumped to sixth at the finish, ahead of satellite Honda duo Jack Miller and Cal Crutchlow. Ducati tester Michele Pirro and Tito Rabat completed the top 10.

Erstwhile title contender Maverick Vinales endured a wretched final race of the year, finishing 12th behind the lead KTM of Bradley Smith.

Satellite Ducati riders Alvaro Bautista and Scott Redding both crashed out early on, along with Aleix Espargaro's Aprilia and the wildcard KTM of Mika Kallio.

Sam Lowes was also a late crasher in his final MotoGP outing for Aprilia, while pitlane starter Pol Espargaro was the eighth and final rider to fall.

Latest NEWS You might be interested in

NEWS Tag Cloud

India News Crash Mojo Sport Iannone Johhy Rea Adventure Bike M1 RAC Smith 650 NK Ganesh International COTA New Upgrades Riding Styles TVS Motor Company Hansaraj Hulaschand MINORU KATO Pulsar 200SS Swish Barcelona GP Cal Crutchlow UNICEF Nepal Andrea Iannone Scooter RTR Triump Movistar Yamaha MotoGP R650 Pulsar SS400 New Driving License system Procedures Akula CB400F CB Unicorn Movistar Yamaha Lorenzo Turbo Nepal Pedrosa Hero Hansaraj Hulas Chand FZ25 Cliq Monster Tech3 Zarco India XR125 TVS Akula 310 design Gusto Marquez Nepal Petroleum Dealers Association Suzuki Gixxer SF FZ Gixxer CTX700 TNT300 Africa Twin 125cc Dovizios Rally Morang Autoworks Mercedes 150 NK Max Biaggi Spain Golcha 2019 Palpa RC390 Expansion Opinions 2017 honda dio Earthquake Relief Motorcycles Hornet Valentino Rossi Duet Motorcycle Ntorq MotoGP Duke 390 Tax Fuel Economy New Year Campaign 390 Adventure Pantero BJ600 Australia Dominar 400 Helmet RED BULL GRAND PRIX OF THE AMERICAS Avenger New Showroom CFMoto Media NEWS Le Mans GP Aprilia TVS Akula 310 concept New Launches CB Twister Classic 500 Hunter Repsol Honda TVS Racing Xtreet Missano New Year 3rd edition Germany CBR500R Motorcyle EICMA HMSI INDIA LAUNCH Tech3 Yamaha British GP NGM HONDA AFRICA TWIN Installment Procedures Dio Agni Moto Inc 150SS Racer AS150 MV Agusta Valencia Q2 New Specifications Controversy Just Bikes Pulsar RS200 Tornado 302R Pulsar AS200 Dovizioso Fascino ETX 150 Celebration BN 302 CS400 CB400X Sepang Test NADA Auto Show ST Papio The Wheels Livo 110 Lets R400 MIchele Pirro TVS Winner 2018 Ducati Honda Nepal Gearventure Bike Nepal Legend CBR400R Price Danilo Petrucci Valencia Motogp TRK502 CRF250 Rally TNT 600i 24x7 service Cash Discount FrenchGP CBR 650F Sepang Bullet 500 Spy Shot LCR Honda honda two wheelers Brutale 1090R KTM International Trading Passion Pro Jagdamba Motors Renegade Aragon MotoGP Czech Grand Prix Gixxer SF Pulsar AS150 Lin Jarvis Pulsar CS400 NS200 honda scooters Rai Motors Fazer Winners Nepal STX 150 Nepal Traffic Police Pramac Racing Suzuki Dashain Offer R 1200 Motegi Glamour Exchange Offer Brutale Italia limited edition Dani Pedrosa Discontinued Dealership RR310 HMSI World Champion Syakar Honda GS Tech 3 Yamaha Aerodynamics Mugello MotoGP Duke 200 IME Automotives Lemoto VR46 Rossi GRAN PREMIO MOTUL DE LA COMUNITAT VALENCIANA Pulsar 150 TD Jupiter Mahindra 50 years LRF 250 Enduro Department of Transport Management Discover 100T Pulsar 150 R15 GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA TIM Offers Sales Moto2 Pulsar NEW HONDA SCOOTER LAUNCH Audi Repsol Honda Team 2018 D-Lifestyles Upcoming Bikes New Motorcycles Offer NOC RC 390 KTM Inazuma RC 200 Concept Motorcycle TNT 135 Japan tour Xtreme Sports Path 22 CB160R Stoner Schemes Pleasure HONDA INDIA 150 SCOOTER Winter Test 2018 Rumours Andrea Dovizioso UM Global Dare Venture TVS Motors Carl Crutchlow RC213V Jerez Royal Enfield Dominar Honda Assen Bhaktapur Interest Rates Cataunya GP Pulsar RS 200 VG Automobiles Continental GT SR150 Moto3 BS IV Euro IV Green Fly Anna business group Hetauda XRE 300 Monza AS200 Husqvarna RE Maha Test Drive Mela Stat Dirt Bike Budget 2074 TVS Akula 310 Acquistion R6 volkswagen Jorge Lorenzo Update Aprilla Malaysia Concept Bike Splendor iSmart BMW G 310 R Australian GP HF Dawn v3 Star City Plus Sym Scooters 400 NK Winglets Circuit of the Americas in Texas Harley-Davidson Crossover Rumour Movistar Yamaha VG Suzuki Motorcycle Scooters NCell Digital License Talkies Johann Zarco Bajaj Harris Performance Madrid Auto Show Tech 3 Jerez GP Petrol 250 Scheme New Launch Activa Future #69 Duke 250 SG Global World Superbikes Japan SR 125 CatalunyaGP Ray 190L Zest Repsol Birjung CBR150R Nicky Hayden 2075 Multistrada Hunk BS III F1 Passion Thailand GP CB Trigger Monkey bike Grand Prix of Argentina Two-wheelers Scrambler QatarGP Apache RTR 200 Apache Nepal Police Stolen Bikes Ninja 300 Sepang MotoGP CRF Benelli Jack Miller Scooter Day Hayabusa Apache RR 310 TNT135 CX-01 concept Karizma Phillip Island NEWS XR Kawasaki BN600 2016 Injury Update Sales Report Jawa Classic commuter motorcycle Adventure 390 Saurav Jyoti TVS Akula 310 launch YZF R3 New Colors Maverick Vinales Andrea Innanone Hayate Argentine Grand Prix Puslar 160 Render Image Splendor Pro Classic Saluto Vespa Luis Salom MOTUL GRAND PRIX OF JAPAN Folgar Thunderbird Vitpilen 401 Lewis Hamilton Syakar Trading Shankar Group Thunderbird 500 Alex Rins PTT Navi Access Petrol Crisis Argetine GP Activa-i Hansaraj Hansa BMW Centuro Sky Racing JnJ Himalayan MotoPG Accident Mexico GP Victor Showroom FZ-S Qatar NADA 2017 Diesel Crisis Limited Edition Valencia Test Vinales Isle of Man TT Activa 125 CRF250L xDrive Hybrid Motorcycle Registration CRF250Rally Marc Marquez Malaysia GP New Vehicle Registration Respol Honda Discountinued Racemandu