MotoGP: Andrea Dovizioso beats Valentino Rossi to Malaysia win

MotoGP Dovizioso Valentino Rossi Yamaha Ducati Malaysia GP

Wet Malaysia GP

Ducati rider Andrea Dovizioso took victory in the Malaysian Grand Prix to become the ninth different race winner in MotoGP this season.

Dovizioso, 30, started from pole after the race in Sepang had been delayed by rain, but dropped to third early on.

He overhauled fellow Italian Valentino Rossi for the lead with five laps left after Rossi ran wide and pushed home his advantage.

It was only his second MotoGP victory in 159 races.

"It's really nice to come to this moment," said Dovizioso. "In these conditions I struggled a lot in the race and had some problems, but I really wanted it."

Rossi finished second ahead of Spaniard Jorge Lorenzo to secure runners-up spot in the championship, while Spanish world champion Marc Marquez, who had been hampered by illness over the past few days, crashed out of fourth place during the race and eventually finished 11th.

Latest NEWS You might be interested in

NEWS Tag Cloud

Activa-i CBR500R Stolen Bikes Scooter Tech 3 Yamaha v3 Limited Edition New Launch Argetine GP R6 NGM 24x7 service EICMA Cliq Upcoming Bikes Dovizios Motegi Pedrosa LCR Honda Scooters Pulsar 200SS VG Suzuki Motorcycle Winglets Spy Shot GS Malaysia GP Puslar 160 Nepal Police Luis Salom Ganesh International NCell Q2 Discover 100T New Launches Duke 200 Turbo Nepal CB160R HMSI INDIA LAUNCH FrenchGP HMSI Mexico GP Fuel Economy TVS CatalunyaGP Duke 250 Classic 500 RC390 HF Dawn Crash Respol Honda Concept Bike Path 22 Render Image Dani Pedrosa Multistrada Offer Andrea Innanone Future Petrol Apache RR 310 XRE 300 Circuit of the Americas in Texas Johhy Rea xDrive Hybrid Expansion Hansaraj Hulas Chand honda scooters Vinales honda dio New Specifications R15 Danilo Petrucci Smith 400 NK Riding Styles MV Agusta Syakar Honda RC 200 Alex Rins Motorcycle Registration CS400 Discountinued Scheme Maverick Vinales 2016 honda two wheelers CBR400R CB400F Sales Update Star City Plus RR310 MotoPG Pulsar RS200 AS200 Pantero Adventure 390 Thunderbird Jorge Lorenzo Pulsar AS150 Nepal Traffic Police ST Papio TRK502 Legend Winners Avenger CB Unicorn Pulsar RS 200 Isle of Man TT NEWS Opinions 250 Movistar Winter Test 2018 XR Aprilla M1 Pulsar CS400 KTM International Trading Nicky Hayden COTA Department of Transport Management Injury Update Spain BS IV Dare Venture Hayabusa Bullet 500 Madrid Auto Show Syakar Trading Two-wheelers NOC Petrol Crisis Dominar Johann Zarco NADA 2017 Adventure Bike RE Maha Test Drive Mela CBR 650F Ntorq R400 Centuro TVS Akula 310 Repsol Honda Team CRF250L Rumour UM Global NADA Auto Show Just Bikes VG Automobiles Birjung Motorcyle Assen Honda 150 NK Grand Prix of Argentina Splendor Pro Classic Suzuki Marc Marquez Suzuki Gixxer SF Helmet FZ25 Africa Twin Harley-Davidson Installment Procedures Phillip Island Repsol Honda CB Trigger Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Pulsar 150 MOTUL GRAND PRIX OF JAPAN Accident Gixxer Honda Nepal 2017 VR46 LRF 250 Enduro Sport Iannone STX 150 Rumours BN600 CB400X Hansaraj Hansa Jupiter Green Fly Sepang UNICEF Nepal Audi GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA TIM Zarco AS150 Showroom Himalayan 2019 Earthquake Relief Hetauda Valencia Motogp RAC TVS Motors Mahindra Renegade Lets Sepang MotoGP Xtreet Dashain Offer Euro IV Jerez GP Duet 2075 JnJ Hunter CBR150R Folgar Hero Rally Pleasure Schemes Bhaktapur 190L PTT Aerodynamics Passion Pro Monster Tech3 Palpa Morang Autoworks Fascino Classic New Colors MINORU KATO Controversy TNT 600i HONDA AFRICA TWIN Zest Sales Report Andrea Iannone Ray 50 years Qatar Access Dio Monkey bike Activa 125 Saurav Jyoti RC 390 Interest Rates Apache RTR 200 RED BULL GRAND PRIX OF THE AMERICAS Racemandu Brutale 1090R Valencia Test Scrambler TVS Akula 310 design BJ600 Malaysia New Year CRF India News Moto2 Dovizioso Hansaraj Hulaschand 3rd edition Japan Agni Moto Inc Missano Repsol TNT 135 Fazer Nepal Karizma FZ-S Jerez CRF250 Rally HONDA INDIA 150 SCOOTER India BS III TNT300 Rai Motors Mugello MotoGP Aragon MotoGP Triump XR125 Digital License Gearventure Bike Nepal Passion BMW G 310 R R650 Cataunya GP Tech3 Yamaha Ducati Lin Jarvis Carl Crutchlow Dominar 400 Celebration BMW Lewis Hamilton Czech Grand Prix R 1200 SG Global Price New Showroom Australian GP ETX 150 Saluto Pulsar AS200 Xtreme Sports Offers YZF R3 Royal Enfield Hunk New Driving License system Procedures MIchele Pirro CTX700 TVS Akula 310 concept Bajaj Golcha Lorenzo Swish Dealership Continental GT Andrea Dovizioso Scooter Day Cash Discount New Year Campaign IME Automotives Husqvarna Vitpilen 401 650 NK Discontinued SR 125 Livo 110 Talkies Mojo TVS Racing Thunderbird 500 RTR Hornet Tax New Motorcycles Hayate Yamaha Harris Performance Movistar Yamaha TNT135 Sky Racing Monza Diesel Crisis Benelli New Upgrades Inazuma Stat Tech 3 Australia World Champion Media NEWS Valencia Dirt Bike Stoner Motorcycle Argentine Grand Prix Tornado 302R Acquistion Jack Miller Cal Crutchlow Brutale Italia limited edition Victor Mercedes Sym Scooters British GP Germany commuter motorcycle Crossover Motorcycles Gusto Gixxer SF Budget 2074 QatarGP Pulsar 150 TD Moto3 MotoGP TVS Motor Company 150SS Racer Sepang Test Japan tour SR150 Ninja 300 Pulsar SS400 GRAN PREMIO MOTUL DE LA COMUNITAT VALENCIANA Navi FZ Exchange Offer Marquez Jagdamba Motors Activa Akula NEW HONDA SCOOTER LAUNCH F1 Splendor iSmart Rossi Le Mans GP Apache volkswagen BN 302 125cc CB Twister Vespa Pramac Racing RC213V Pulsar World Superbikes New Vehicle Registration 390 Adventure Thailand GP Duke 390 The Wheels CFMoto Valentino Rossi CX-01 concept Glamour 2018 D-Lifestyles Anna business group TVS Akula 310 launch Concept Motorcycle #69 Winner 2018 Jawa Barcelona GP Shankar Group Monster Yamaha Max Biaggi KTM Nepal Petroleum Dealers Association Lemoto Aprilia Kawasaki CRF250Rally NS200