MotoGP: Jorge Lorenzo win narrows gap on Valentino Rossi

MotoGP Lorenzo Valentino Rossi Yamaha Honda Pedrosa

Spaniard Jorge Lorenzo won the Aragon GP in his home country to narrow the gap on title rival and Yamaha team-mate Valentino Rossi to 14 points.

Lorenzo eased to victory after overtaking world champion and pole sitter Marc Marquez at the start.

Honda's Marquez crashed out on lap two as he chased the fellow Spaniard, while Rossi was third behind Dani Pedrosa.

In the Moto3 race, Britain's Danny Kent failed to finish but still holds a 55-points lead in the riders' standings.

Kent is hoping to be the first British champion in any class since Barry Sheene in 1977.

Rossi v Pedrosa

Lorenzo might have had a comfortable time in securing his sixth win of 2015 but the battle for second behind him made for an enthralling spectacle.

Rossi made his move with five laps to go, but each time he overtook Pedrosa his rival would immediately regain his position.

On the last lap, it appeared Rossi might have made a move that would count, but Pedrosa again came back to move second and, despite making a mistake, held on.

"I tried everything but Dani was able to overtake me in the next corner and come back," said Rossi.

Pedrosa added: "It was really hard to focus on keeping my lap times and closing the door. It was really hard in the last 10 laps.

"I tried to fight and stay in front. I lost a little grip and could feel his engine behind me. It was a good battle and it was nice to race to the end."

Title run-in

There are four races to go in the championship and reigning champion Marquez's hopes appear to be over as he is 79 points behind Rossi.

"I made a good start as usual," said Lorenzo.

"My strategy was to race at the maximum and it worked quite well as Marquez had to race at the maximum to catch me, but I never expected him to crash."

Rossi is aiming for his first title since 2009 and added: "I'm not happy as I needed those five extra points for second place."

Aragon MotoGP results:

1. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 41 minutes 44.933 seconds

2. Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 41:47.616

3. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 41:47.706

4. Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati 41:52.791

5. Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati 42:09.255

6. Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Suzuki 42:09.762

7. Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Honda 42:10.300

8. Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha 42:10.436

9. Pol Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 42:11.385

10. Yonny Hernandez (Colombia) Ducati 42:28.822

11. Maverick Vinales (Spain) Suzuki 42:29.188

12. Scott Redding (Britain) Honda 42:33.109

13. Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Aprilia 42:34.688

14. Eugene Laverty (Ireland) Honda 42:35.204

15. Nicky Hayden (U.S.) Honda 42:35.297

MotoGP Standings after race 14 of 18:

1. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 263

2. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 249

3. Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda 184

4. Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati 172

5. Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha 143

6. Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati 139

7. Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 129

8. Danilo Petrucci (Italy) Ducati 93

9. Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Honda 88

10. Pol Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 88

11. Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Suzuki 76

11. Maverick Vinales (Spain) Suzuki 74

13. Scott Redding (Britain) Honda 67

14. Yonny Hernandez (Colombia) Ducati 47

15. Loris Baz (France) Forward 28

Latest NEWS You might be interested in

NEWS Tag Cloud

Sport Continental GT Turbo Nepal Activa 125 Danilo Petrucci Jupiter Navi Hansaraj Hulas Chand NS200 FrenchGP QatarGP VG Automobiles Moto2 TNT135 Australia Green Fly Audi CBR500R R 1200 Repsol Honda Japan 250 Harris Performance Dominar R15 Interest Rates AS200 COTA New Vehicle Registration Department of Transport Management Hansaraj Hulaschand Akula Himalayan Q2 New Year Thunderbird 500 Showroom Hornet Australian GP Pulsar CS400 honda two wheelers Victor GRAN PREMIO MOTUL DE LA COMUNITAT VALENCIANA YZF R3 Scheme Mugello MotoGP Pulsar RS 200 Price Madrid Auto Show BMW G 310 R volkswagen 125cc Pulsar SS400 Path 22 HMSI INDIA LAUNCH Kawasaki JnJ Luis Salom Puslar 160 CBR150R GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA TIM BS III RC390 CB400F Rumour New Motorcycles Karizma Pulsar RS200 Repsol Honda Team v3 CRF250 Rally Dani Pedrosa 2017 RC 200 Sales Report CTX700 CB Twister New Launches Assen XR125 Pulsar AS150 CX-01 concept BN600 CBR400R Ganesh International SR150 Racemandu Apache RTR 200 HF Dawn Dovizios Sym Scooters 24x7 service CB400X Yamaha Johhy Rea TNT300 Czech Grand Prix Barcelona GP HMSI Marquez MIchele Pirro Dio CB Unicorn Offers Palpa Hayate BJ600 Jerez GP Argentine Grand Prix Sales MINORU KATO Thunderbird HONDA INDIA 150 SCOOTER Spain CB Trigger Xtreet Passion India News Rossi Gixxer SF R400 Splendor Pro Classic Cliq Spy Shot Hunter Update IME Automotives TVS Akula 310 Earthquake Relief Talkies Fuel Economy Argetine GP Exchange Offer R6 Agni Moto Inc Suzuki TVS Motor Company 390 Adventure Carl Crutchlow Motegi Star City Plus Acquistion Scooter Vitpilen 401 Circuit of the Americas in Texas Fazer honda scooters EICMA Digital License Africa Twin Husqvarna SG Global Ray Adventure 390 Folgar Cal Crutchlow Tornado 302R RAC Motorcycles TVS Akula 310 design Suzuki Gixxer SF Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Saurav Jyoti Motorcycle The Wheels Marc Marquez Two-wheelers Budget 2074 Vespa Centuro BMW Nepal CB160R Duke 250 Motorcycle Registration Gusto TVS Akula 310 concept R650 Jorge Lorenzo Fascino Nepal Traffic Police Nepal Police Petrol Ninja 300 New Launch India honda dio Hero BS IV NADA Auto Show Zest commuter motorcycle Golcha Vinales Hetauda Duet Pulsar Monza NEW HONDA SCOOTER LAUNCH Lorenzo UNICEF Nepal FZ25 New Driving License system Procedures Crossover xDrive Hybrid Nepal Petroleum Dealers Association Gixxer Concept Bike RED BULL GRAND PRIX OF THE AMERICAS Lets Benelli TNT 600i Pulsar 200SS FZ Activa-i CatalunyaGP CRF250L Stat Concept Motorcycle TNT 135 Scooters TRK502 Shankar Group Passion Pro Petrol Crisis 150SS Racer ETX 150 Avenger XRE 300 D-Lifestyles Limited Edition Mojo World Champion Maverick Vinales New Colors RC 390 NCell AS150 Dovizioso CRF250Rally Upcoming Bikes World Superbikes Brutale Italia limited edition Andrea Innanone Renegade New Specifications Activa Malaysia GP Just Bikes Monkey bike Duke 200 Gearventure Bike Nepal Multistrada Accident TVS Akula 310 launch HONDA AFRICA TWIN Dominar 400 Honda Valentino Rossi UM Global Honda Nepal Brutale 1090R Valencia Motogp Pleasure Missano Xtreme Sports TVS Motors Schemes Bullet 500 Qatar Rally Triump MotoGP Le Mans GP Classic 500 NOC Aprilia Harley-Davidson Jerez CRF KTM CS400 STX 150 BN 302 Swish Diesel Crisis Morang Autoworks Mahindra CBR 650F NGM Pedrosa Movistar RC213V KTM International Trading Euro IV Pulsar AS200 Isle of Man TT LCR Honda FZ-S Discountinued Iannone Access TVS Future Bhaktapur Anna business group Stolen Bikes Germany VG Suzuki Motorcycle Andrea Dovizioso Adventure Bike Opinions Hunk Discover 100T Royal Enfield Discontinued 2016 Ducati Tax Offer NEWS Sepang Duke 390 Render Image NADA 2017 Syakar Trading Riding Styles Bajaj New Year Campaign GS Splendor iSmart Scrambler Pantero Livo 110 British GP MV Agusta Installment Procedures MOTUL GRAND PRIX OF JAPAN Jagdamba Motors Rumours Inazuma Saluto