MotoGP: Marc Marquez takes victory at Indianapolis

MotoGP Marquez Honda

Marc Marquez Motogp Indy 2015

Defending champion Marc Marquez claimed his second successive Grand Prix with victory in the Indianapolis MotoGP.

The 22-year-old Spaniard began on pole but was passed by compatriot Jorge Lorenzo on the opening corner.

Marquez, who won 13 of 18 races last year, seized the lead with three laps left for his third win of the season, climbing to third in the championship.

Valentino Rossi began eighth on the grid but finished third and leads Jorge Lorenzo by nine points.

"I'm very happy to only lose four points," said the Italian, who won the last of his seven world titles in 2009, and leads the standings with eight races left.

Marquez, who has moved above Italy's Andrea Iannone, is 56 points behind Rossi.

Lorenzo, world champion in 2010 and 2012, made a tremendous start but Marquez, yet to be beaten on American soil in MotoGP, set a new circuit lap record en route to Honda's 700th Grand Prix victory.

Marquez covered the 27-lap, 112.59km Indianapolis Motor Speedway course in 41 minutes, 55.371 seconds with Yamaha's Lorenzo, 0.688 seconds behind and has now won for the past five years at the venue in Moto2GP and MotoGP.

In the Moto3 race, Britain's Danny Kent, seeking to become the first Briton to win a world championship in any class since Barry Sheene in 1977, began on pole with a 76-point lead but as rain descended he finished 21st.

Livio Loi, the 18-year-old from Belgium, secured his first Grand Prix victory, with 21-year-old Scotsman John McPhee finishing second for his first podium finish in the competition. Kent still leads by 56 points with eight races remaining.

Alex Rins of Spain won the Moto2 race ahead of Johann Zarco, who is 71 points clear at the top of the standings. Britain's Sam Lowes did not finish and dropped two places to fifth in the standings.

Indianapolis Grand Prix results:

1. Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda 41 minutes 55.371 seconds

2. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 41:56.059

3. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 42:01.337

4. Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 42:01.518

5. Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati 42:16.899

6. Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha 42:17.122

7. Pol Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 42:25.749

8. Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Honda 42:26.978

9. Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati 42:28.192

10. Danilo Petrucci (Italy) Ducati 42:29.888

11. Maverick Vinales (Spain) Suzuki 42:34.381

12. Yonny Hernandez (Colombia) Ducati 42:37.186

13. Scott Redding (Britain) Honda 42:45.580

14. Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Suzuki 42:55.836

15. Hector Barbera (Spain) Ducati 42:59.518

MotoGP standings after race 10 of 18:

1. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 195

2. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 186

3. Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda 139

4. Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati 129

5. Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha 97

6. Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati 94

7. Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 80

8. Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Honda 74

9. Pol Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 73

10. Maverick Vinales (Spain) Suzuki 62

11. Danilo Petrucci (Italy) Ducati 57

12. Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Suzuki 46

13. Yonny Hernandez (Colombia) Ducati 36

14. Scott Redding (Britain) Honda 33

15. Hector Barbera (Spain) Ducati 20

Source: BBC Sport

Latest NEWS You might be interested in

NEWS Tag Cloud

Ray UNICEF Nepal LCR Honda 50 years Saurav Jyoti Movistar Lemoto Phillip Island Green Fly Bullet 500 Pleasure Carl Crutchlow TVS Akula 310 launch Harris Performance NADA 2017 EICMA Valencia Motogp Yamaha TVS Akula 310 Agni Moto Inc Passion STX 150 Winglets Budget 2074 Multistrada HMSI Pantero New Launch Hayate Assen 125cc R6 Jerez VG Suzuki Motorcycle NCell MIchele Pirro Spain CBR150R YZF R3 New Launches Luis Salom Avenger Palpa CB Twister New Motorcycles TNT135 HONDA INDIA 150 SCOOTER Thunderbird Earthquake Relief CRF250Rally Pulsar Path 22 Ganesh International Circuit of the Americas in Texas Gixxer SF FZ25 India News Lorenzo QatarGP Splendor iSmart Apache Swish Passion Pro Sport Valencia Lin Jarvis Africa Twin Argetine GP Mahindra Hunter New Showroom Pulsar CS400 xDrive Hybrid Crash 650 NK RC390 Offer v3 BN 302 Pedrosa Zarco Stolen Bikes Hornet GS NEW HONDA SCOOTER LAUNCH Alex Rins Adventure Bike Just Bikes Cal Crutchlow Jerez GP BMW G 310 R Monkey bike Adventure 390 Department of Transport Management Access Himalayan Sales Report Duke 200 honda dio SR150 Gixxer Husqvarna Rai Motors New Specifications Zest Winter Test 2018 Nepal Petroleum Dealers Association NOC CFMoto Glamour Japan New Colors BMW Pulsar SS400 R 1200 JnJ Moto2 Valencia Test RE Maha Test Drive Mela RED BULL GRAND PRIX OF THE AMERICAS AS200 British GP Classic Triump Nepal TNT 135 Iannone BS III Celebration NGM TNT 600i Continental GT KTM Mojo Australia Thunderbird 500 HMSI INDIA LAUNCH Karizma Benelli Hansaraj Hulas Chand Missano XR ETX 150 CBR400R Akula XR125 Fuel Economy MOTUL GRAND PRIX OF JAPAN BS IV CBR500R Q2 KTM International Trading Sepang Test Lets TVS 400 NK Royal Enfield Opinions Repsol Honda Team Rally Star City Plus Scooter Day Gearventure Bike Nepal Acquistion Golcha CBR 650F Concept Bike RR310 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP UM Global FZ-S 24x7 service Apache RTR 200 Xtreet Marc Marquez Schemes Interest Rates GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA TIM Birjung Hansaraj Hulaschand Media NEWS 390 Adventure Rumours Two-wheelers CRF250 Rally SG Global Dio Suzuki FZ Honda Nepal TVS Racing Fascino 250 Motorcycles Cliq XRE 300 Activa 125 TNT300 COTA Offers Gusto Turbo Nepal Sym Scooters Mugello MotoGP Andrea Innanone 2017 Tech 3 CB Unicorn TVS Akula 310 design Tornado 302R Aragon MotoGP Showroom Pulsar RS200 Bajaj CRF250L TVS Akula 310 concept Grand Prix of Argentina Motorcycle Audi TRK502 Renegade Stoner New Year Campaign Update Crossover Activa-i 150 NK Xtreme Sports Classic 500 Folgar RC213V Saluto Hero Honda Rossi Upcoming Bikes Czech Grand Prix Duet Concept Motorcycle MV Agusta Duke 250 New Vehicle Registration TVS Motor Company Future Accident D-Lifestyles HF Dawn Tax CX-01 concept New Upgrades Hetauda Euro IV 150SS Racer Aprilia HONDA AFRICA TWIN Germany Aerodynamics Tech 3 Yamaha New Driving License system Procedures NADA Auto Show volkswagen Victor Motorcycle Registration Price Pulsar 200SS Qatar Australian GP Talkies CRF Dominar 400 The Wheels Valentino Rossi Discover 100T Le Mans GP Sepang Movistar Yamaha CB400X honda scooters Syakar Trading CS400 RC 200 RC 390 Livo 110 Jagdamba Motors 2018 Hunk Dani Pedrosa Madrid Auto Show World Superbikes Ducati Nepal Traffic Police Racemandu Dirt Bike Barcelona GP MINORU KATO Shankar Group Scrambler New Year Scooters Petrol Crisis MotoGP CB160R Scheme Discontinued Injury Update R15 Fazer Suzuki Gixxer SF Riding Styles Pulsar AS150 Andrea Iannone 2016 Jupiter World Champion Controversy Pulsar RS 200 ST Papio CB Trigger NEWS Argentine Grand Prix Navi Johhy Rea Activa Jorge Lorenzo Ninja 300 R650 Vinales Spy Shot R400 VG Automobiles NS200 Repsol Honda commuter motorcycle Harley-Davidson Helmet Syakar Honda CTX700 Bhaktapur Motorcyle Render Image Malaysia Diesel Crisis Digital License GRAN PREMIO MOTUL DE LA COMUNITAT VALENCIANA Discountinued IME Automotives Dovizios Pulsar AS200 Dominar Vespa SR 125 Marquez Johann Zarco Malaysia GP India Motegi Jack Miller Stat Vitpilen 401 Brutale 1090R Nepal Police TVS Motors FrenchGP Danilo Petrucci Monza Monster Tech3 Duke 390 Splendor Pro Classic Installment Procedures Scooter Centuro Isle of Man TT Sales Anna business group honda two wheelers Winners Pramac Racing Max Biaggi Puslar 160 Brutale Italia limited edition BJ600 LRF 250 Enduro Kawasaki CB400F Inazuma RAC Maverick Vinales Exchange Offer AS150 Aprilla Andrea Dovizioso Rumour 3rd edition Morang Autoworks Petrol Limited Edition Dare Venture BN600 CatalunyaGP Dovizioso 190L