Jorge Lorenzo wins crash-filled Catalunya MotoGP

MotoGP Cataunya GP Jorge Lorenzo Ducati Marquez Valentino Rossi

DUCATI’S Jorge Lorenzo powered from pole to claim victory in a second straight race at the Grand Prix of Catalunya on Sunday, ahead of championship leader Marc Marquez and Valentino Rossi.

The three-time world MotoGP champion won at Mugello last time out in his first win for Ducati, and celebrated his win at Montmelo wildly after a race in which half the competitors failed to finish.

After seven of the season’s 19 races, Lorenzo stands seventh in the overall standings on 66 points, with Marquez atop the pile on 115, followed by Rossi (88) and Maverick Vinales (77).

Lorenzo, who will quit Ducati to join up with Marquez at Honda next season, finished 4.479 seconds ahead of Marquez, with Rossi at almost 7 seconds.

Marquez and Suzuki’s Italian rider Andrea Iannone briefly passed Lorenzo before the latter regained the lead and led through to the finish line.

“In claiming a second straight victory it’s incredible to see how things can change so quickly,” Lorenzo said.

His teammate Andrea Dovizioso crashed after ten laps, a big blow for last season’s runner-up who has failed to finish three of his last four races.

Marquez was left satisfied with his showing.

“It was tough to beat the Ducatis here but the most important thing is that we’ve increased our lead in the championship,” he said.

Earlier in the day, French youngster Fabio Quartararo of Speed Up won the Moto2 for his first ever Grand Prix victory.

The 19-year-old started from pole position and beat Portugal’s KTM rider Miguel Oliveira by 2.492 seconds, with Spaniard Alex Marquez of Kalex third at 3.485 seconds.

Italy’s Francesco Bagnaia still tops the standings for Kalex by a single point from Oliveira and 25 ahead of Marquez in third.

Italy’s Enea Bastianini of Honda edged to Moto3 victory in a race marked by a string of crashes.

Setting off from pole position, the 20-year-old finished 0.167 seconds ahead of compatriot and Marco Bezzecchi with Argentine Gabriel Rodrigo a further 0.003 seconds back in third.

KTM’s Bezzechi increased his lead in the standings to 19 points over Fabio Di Giannantonio, who finished seventh, while fellow title contenders Jorge Martin and Aron Canet crashed out.


Latest NEWS You might be interested in

NEWS Tag Cloud

Limited Edition Argentine Grand Prix Classic 500 Discountinued Husqvarna Scooter Star City Plus Shankar Group Hansaraj Hulaschand Czech Grand Prix honda two wheelers honda scooters 3rd edition Price Green Fly Budget 2074 Passion Pro Fazer NEW HONDA SCOOTER LAUNCH Centuro Johhy Rea Spain Dare Venture New Launch Scooter Day Renegade GRAN PREMIO MOTUL DE LA COMUNITAT VALENCIANA Racemandu Brutale Italia limited edition Barcelona GP Hornet Motorcycles Interest Rates R400 Valencia Test Motegi Dovizios Birjung Injury Update Jupiter Cliq Danilo Petrucci Movistar CRF250 Rally Missano Monza Duke 390 Anna business group MINORU KATO Earthquake Relief Benelli Installment Procedures Syakar Honda CB160R MotoGP Jerez GP Livo 110 UNICEF Nepal Monster Tech3 GS Adventure Bike Avenger Honda Upcoming Bikes TVS Lemoto Hunk Tornado 302R RC213V Crossover Royal Enfield Classic Scheme World Superbikes Triump Gixxer SF New Vehicle Registration Hetauda Accident 2017 RC390 Assen Hansaraj Hulas Chand Argetine GP HONDA INDIA 150 SCOOTER HMSI Mahindra Valencia Motogp MIchele Pirro Opinions NGM 2016 Euro IV CX-01 concept Concept Bike New Motorcycles New Year RC 200 Thunderbird 500 CB Trigger The Wheels Riding Styles Motorcycle Registration commuter motorcycle Stolen Bikes BS III BN600 Phillip Island Offers TVS Racing Akula 150SS Racer CBR 650F Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Andrea Dovizioso Max Biaggi Glamour Himalayan Rally Winglets Australian GP FrenchGP Marquez Pulsar AS200 Puslar 160 Discontinued Karizma Hansaraj Hansa Nepal Police Rossi Saurav Jyoti Diesel Crisis Luis Salom Celebration FZ-S TNT 600i Future Talkies Petrol Crisis Maverick Vinales TVS Motor Company Monkey bike HONDA AFRICA TWIN Dovizioso Zarco Jorge Lorenzo Two-wheelers COTA ST Papio CS400 BJ600 Concept Motorcycle Inazuma RAC XRE 300 MV Agusta Jagdamba Motors Activa 125 Q2 RE Maha Test Drive Mela VG Automobiles Bajaj TRK502 Andrea Iannone SG Global Ninja 300 Brutale 1090R Discover 100T HF Dawn Dio Fuel Economy Schemes World Champion NADA 2017 Passion Cataunya GP QatarGP Victor JnJ CBR400R Qatar Aragon MotoGP Lin Jarvis Suzuki Gixxer SF Crash STX 150 Render Image Access Golcha CB400F Zest TNT135 Hayate Department of Transport Management Acquistion Pantero Australia R650 Honda Nepal Adventure 390 FZ25 New Launches Helmet Rumours Duke 200 Africa Twin 24x7 service Gixxer D-Lifestyles Agni Moto Inc Motorcyle KTM BMW G 310 R Scrambler honda dio Syakar Trading Movistar Yamaha Sepang Aerodynamics 2018 RR310 Carl Crutchlow Mugello MotoGP Lorenzo Activa Mojo BN 302 Bullet 500 CRF Sport Offer New Upgrades Isle of Man TT 150 NK Activa-i Dominar 400 Ganesh International Harris Performance Thunderbird Scooters Cal Crutchlow UM Global EICMA CRF250L New Specifications Marc Marquez Controversy IME Automotives Turbo Nepal Malaysia TNT300 British GP Navi Media NEWS Just Bikes CB Unicorn Splendor iSmart CTX700 Pulsar 200SS CRF250Rally Repsol Honda Team Duet Dominar Gearventure Bike Nepal Hunter volkswagen Winter Test 2018 Iannone Stoner 50 years Valencia TVS Akula 310 concept Pulsar AS150 Tech 3 TVS Motors Johann Zarco Bhaktapur SR150 Lets Nepal XR125 Swish New Colors Yamaha Nepal Traffic Police Le Mans GP Alex Rins Apache New Showroom Circuit of the Americas in Texas Apache RTR 200 MOTUL GRAND PRIX OF JAPAN BMW Vespa Multistrada Path 22 RC 390 Vitpilen 401 Sales Report TVS Akula 310 launch Update Aprilla 400 NK Xtreme Sports TVS Akula 310 design Dani Pedrosa LRF 250 Enduro VG Suzuki Motorcycle Dirt Bike Folgar Vinales NEWS Pramac Racing Grand Prix of Argentina Pulsar RS200 Sepang Test Harley-Davidson India v3 Andrea Innanone Madrid Auto Show 250 Jerez New Driving License system Procedures Pulsar SS400 Digital License AS150 Exchange Offer Petrol AS200 Xtreet Showroom R6 390 Adventure Germany Moto2 Gusto Kawasaki Rumour Pulsar RS 200 CB Twister Japan 190L Jack Miller TVS Akula 310 Aprilia NS200 Pulsar CBR150R Tech 3 Yamaha Fascino Sym Scooters India News Winners NCell KTM International Trading HMSI INDIA LAUNCH CBR500R Hero Malaysia GP Stat Tax Valentino Rossi BS IV FZ Suzuki 650 NK Rai Motors LCR Honda RED BULL GRAND PRIX OF THE AMERICAS Splendor Pro Classic TNT 135 GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA TIM Pedrosa Saluto Nepal Petroleum Dealers Association Duke 250 NOC Pulsar CS400 Palpa Sales 125cc Motorcycle Pleasure XR New Year Campaign CatalunyaGP Ray Continental GT ETX 150 CFMoto xDrive Hybrid CB400X Audi SR 125 R15 Spy Shot Morang Autoworks YZF R3 Repsol Honda NADA Auto Show R 1200 Ducati